Timboon and District Healthcare Service | Board of Directors
page-template-default,page,page-id-3091,page-child,parent-pageid-113,qode-quick-links-1.0,tribe-no-js,ajax_fade,page_not_loaded,,qode_grid_1300,footer_responsive_adv,qode-child-theme-ver-1.0.0,qode-theme-ver-11.2,qode-theme-bridge,pc_unlogged,wpb-js-composer js-comp-ver-5.2.1,vc_responsive

Board of Directors

Earlier this year the Minister for Health announced new Board appointments, effective from 1 July 2018 and we welcomed Toinette Hutchins to our Board of Governance.

Toinette resides in Warrnambool and brings a lot of clinical experience to our Board as she has been a Registered nurse for 20 years, with 2 years in mental health nursing and over 15 years of Emergency Nursing experience.

She joins our already existing Board members Josh McKenzie, Bryce Morden, Anne Skordis, Chris Stewart, Claire Murphy, Gerry Keely and Maryanne Puli Vogels.

Maryanne Puli Vogels

Chair Board of Directors, Member Community Advisory Committee, Board Representative Timboon Clinic Management Committee

Maryanne is a graduate of the Australian Institute of Company Directors and also studied at Melbourne University, RMIT and Australian Catholic University.  She has served on the Australian Information Industry Association (AIIA) committee.

Maryanne started life as a teacher and then became involved in training for the Department of Social Security.  She was an early adopter of distance/computer based learning in Australia.  Over the last 20 years Maryanne has held leadership roles across Europe, Australia and Asia Pacific and has experience in partner management and business planning. Now living locally in Scotts Creek on a dairy farm, Maryanne is keen to become more involved and start giving back to her local community here in the South West.

Current Term of Appointment:  July 1, 2017 – June 30, 2020

Josh McKenzie

Vice Chair Board of Directors, Chair of Audit Committee

A tertiary qualified Engineer and Scientist Josh was appointed to the TDHS board in 2004.  He has spent the last 20 years in a combination of engineering and management roles in pharmaceutical, and oil and gas industries.  These roles have assisted Josh to develop his focus on people as individuals and also on hazard identification and risk management.

Josh has also had a close and long-lasting involvement with the Timboon region growing up in the area and still residing with his family in the region.

Current Term of Appointment:  July 1, 2017 – June 30, 2019

Bryce Morden

Chair Clinical Governance, Quality and Credentialing Committee

An active member of the Timboon community, Bryce was appointed to the TDHS board in 2016. Bryce has worked in natural resource management for over a decade with an emphasis on community engagement and planning for sustainable long-term outcomes.

Bryce is a member of several local community groups and was elected Captain of the Timboon Fire Brigade in 2017. He holds a Bachelor of Commerce and Bachelor of Science along with postgraduate qualifications in river health management.

Current Term of Appointment:  July 1, 2016 – June 30, 2019

Gerry Keely

Gerry is a registered nurse with over 25 years’ experience in both the public and private healthcare settings reaching the role of Nurse Unit Manager and has also worked in specialist hospitals in the Middle East and the United Kingdom. Her last position was with the Department of Health (DoH) based in Geelong where her role involved developing collaborative relationships giving clinical support and providing a conduit service between the DoH and healthcare services across the Barwon South West Region.

Gerry’s current role is with Barwon Health as a project coordinator working on a program supporting shared decision making, particularly at the end of patients’ lives. Gerry is deeply passionate about patient centred care and evidence-based quality rural health care. Gerry lives on the Bellarine Peninsula with her two teenage daughters.

Current Term of Appointment:  July 1, 2017 – June 30, 2020

Claire Murphy

Claire has an extensive experience in the public health sector in change and project management, though she started her working life as a physiotherapist. She currently works as a consultant in governance and strategic business improvement and has served on governing boards in the community and education sectors as well as on professional bodies.

Claire holds a Bachelor and Master degree in Physiotherapy, is a graduate of the Australian Institute of Company Directors, and is a project management practitioner in both PRINCE2 and Agile PM. Claire is passionate about public health and education and believes that we should be striving for the best services in these areas and that they must be accessible for all members of our community. Claire is married and has three children.

Current Term of Appointment:  July 1, 2017 – June 30, 2020

Anne Skordis

Anne Skordis has a background in Social Work and over 30 years of experience working in government at Local, State and Commonwealth levels, in areas of social policy and intergovernmental negotiations particularly related to ageing and disability.  Anne’s current role is as an independent consultant and Expert Advisor for the National Disability Insurance Agency (NDIA).

Anne’s previous role related to the implementation of the NDIS including development of approaches related to rural and remote service delivery. Anne is also currently a member of the Board of a not for profit aged and community care provider in NSW.  Having grown up in country Victoria Anne also has an appreciation of, and connections with Western District communities.

Current Term of Appointment:  July 1, 2017 – June 30, 2019

Chris Stewart

Board Representative Timboon Clinic Management Committee

Chris has been a paramedic with Ambulance Victoria for 21 years, having worked extensively operationally as well as in clinical education, management and policy development. As the local Ambulance Team Manager he has a first-hand view of both the needs and abilities of TDHS.

Chris also has an extensive background in sports administration and oversight, providing a sound background in oversight, administrative process and setting and then following a strategic direction.He has recently settled in Timboon with his wife and three children.

Current Term of Appointment:  July 1, 2017 – June 30, 2020

Toinette Hutchins

Toinette has been a Registered nurse for 20 years, with 2 years in mental health nursing and over 15 years of Emergency Nursing experience. Toinette is also an ALS paramedic with Ambulance Victoria and has been a paramedic for 9 years. She is employed in varying education roles within Southwest Healthcare, Deakin School of Medicine and Ambulance Victoria. Toinette has a strong focus on interdisciplinary education and collaboration and is currently undertaking a Masters of Clinical Education to enhance her educational roles. As a clinician working across these areas she has an insight and strong desire to support the roles, abilities and future needs of TDHS. She lives in Warrnambool Vic.

Current Term of Appointment:  July 1, 2018 – June 30 2021

TDHS BOG Toinette Hutchins